This iPhone hack will let you have secret conversations with your friends

This iPhone hack will let you have secret conversations with your friends

You leave a trail when you send and receive text messages on your iPhone. And for the most part it’s not a problem. You probably want these messages saved and recorded so you can review them when needed, but there may be times when you want your conversations to be a little more…private.

This is one of the reasons why applications like Snapchat and Signal so popular. However, you don’t need to download a third party app to have more private conversations on your iPhone. Instead, you can use Apple’s built-in app to send temporary hidden messages to your friends and family – and it’s been around ever since. iOS 10.

The Notes app lets you collaborate on notes, whether it’s grocery store listings or collections of dad jokes. Anyone who is part of a collaborative note can edit them in real time – and this is what you can use for hidden conversations. You can have an incredibly long private conversation without any hard evidence that it ever existed.

To learn how to turn a note into a hidden conversation on iOS, here’s what you need to know. And while you’re at it, check a hidden trackpad that lives in your iOS keyboard and these 10 hidden iOS 16 features you need to know about.

First, create a note in the Notes app.

On your iPhone, launch the Notes app and tap the Write button in the lower right corner to create a new note. Then type something into the note to save it, otherwise it will be automatically deleted when you exit the note. You can also just go to an existing note, but it’s better to start over with a new one.

First, create a new note or go to an existing one.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Customize note sharing options to add collaborators

Once your note is up and running, you can begin the process of adding another person as a collaborator, which means they can read and edit everything in the note. To get started, tap More button in the upper right corner, and then click Share note.

Now click Sharing options and make sure Can make changes option is selected in the “Resolution” section. You must also disable Anyone can add people in case you want to be the only person who can add collaborators to your post. Return to the last page when you have finished configuring these settings.

Note taking app for iPhone

Second, manage what your employees can do.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Add the friends you want to include and share the link

Then choose how you want to share the note: you can choose to send it via text message, email, social media, and more. If you swipe through the sharing options, you can also select Copy linkwhich copies the note link to the clipboard and allows you to paste it anywhere.

For this example, I will choose Copy link the ability to share notes.

At the top of the Copy Link page, enter the email address or phone number of the person you want to access the note. You can also touch Add icon to search among your contacts. Adding a contact to a note is mandatory – if you share a link without adding a contact, the other person won’t be able to view or edit the note, even with the link.

Finally click Copy Connection to copy the note link to your clipboard and share it with a collaborator.

Note taking app for iPhone

Then add your collaborators.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Send secret messages with Notes

The other person on the receiving end should now open the link to the note and accept the invitation. If they accept the invitation, they will be redirected to the Notes app and to the shared note you just created.

To chat, just type something into a note that the other person can see in real time, without having to hit send. They will also receive a notification every time the note is changed.

Each person in the note will have the corresponding color (just for a moment) so that everyone else knows who typed what. You can also swipe right from the middle of the note to see the name of the person who wrote the message, as well as the timestamp when the message was written, and any matching colors.

Note taking app for iPhone

Now you can secretly chat with your friends or family.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

You can also touch Share note button (with checkmark icon) go to Shared note management and then turn on Select all changes. Thus, all messages will be permanently highlighted in the appropriate color, making it easier to read the conversation.

And if you want your communication to be more discreet, delete your message or someone else’s message to cross it out of the note. This way, your conversation will be more like a Snapchat conversation, with ephemeral or short-lived messages that outsiders won’t see if they view your notes. You can do this with any text in your notes, as well as photos, videos, links, drawings, or any other attachments you add to a note.

Permanently delete your secret chat

Not all secret conversations can go on forever, so it’s time to end them.

If you are the owner of the note and want to keep the note intact for everyone but prevent it from being edited, you can easily do so. In the upper right corner, tap the icon View Members button and then press Shared note management. To remove a member, you can swipe left on their name and then tap Delete or you can click on their name and then click Remove Access.

Note taking app for iPhone

To end a conversation with notes, remove all collaborators or stop sharing the note.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Also, you can touch stop sharing an option that will not only remove the participants from the note, but also delete the note from all their devices.

If you are not the owner of the note, you can simply delete the note from the Notes app.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *