Trump declares himself winner of his own golf club championship, despite missing a round

Trump declares himself winner of his own golf club championship, despite missing a round

Donald Trump has declared himself the winner… again.

Trump announced on his social media platform Tuesday that he won the senior club championship at Trump International Golf Club in unincorporated West Palm Beach last weekend, despite missing out on the first round of the tournament.

Members arrived on the second day surprised to see Trump leading by five points, according to the Daily Mail. But Trump never made it to the first round because he was attending the funeral in North Carolina of ardent supporter Lynette Hardaway, known by the nickname of “Diamond” by conservative political commentary duo Diamond and Silk.

Trump told tournament organizers that he played a strong round on the course on Thursday, two days before the tournament began, and decided that would count as his score Saturday for the club championship. That score was five points better than any competitor posted during the first round on Saturday.

Trump called it a “great honor” to have won “one of the best courses in the country, in Palm Beach County,” in his Truth Social post.

October 27, 2022; Miami, Florida, United States; Former President Donald Trump on the 10th tee during the Pro-Am tournament prior to the LIV Golf Series at Trump National Doral.

“I competed against a lot of good golfers and was hitting the ball long and straight,” he wrote. “The reason I’m announcing this in the fabulous TRUTH is that, in a very real way, it serves as a physical exam, only MUCH harder. You need strength and stamina to WIN, and I have strength and stamina, most others don’t. You also need strength and stamina to RULE!”

Trump’s Thursday round gave him a score of 40 using the Stableford method, five more than Saturday’s best round, according to the Daily Mail. The Stableford method awards one point for bogey, two for par, three for birdie and so on. .

Trump, the Palm Beach resident and former president who played more golf while in office than any other president, scored a hole-in-one on the course in April, a feat verified by Hall of Fame golfer Ernie Els, who formed Trump’s part. foursome that day. Trump used a 5-iron on the 181-yard seventh hole.

In October, Trump played in the pro-am before the LIV Golf season finale at his course in Doral.

“I hit straight, I hit good drives, I hit good irons,” he said that day.

This article originally appeared on the Palm Beach Post: Donald Trump declares himself winner of his own golf championship

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *