Why you should use the new iPhone security check feature

Why you should use the new iPhone security check feature

In 2022, Apple announced security checkA new iOS security feature that allows you to quickly view all the information (location, credentials, etc.) you share with someone else, such as an ex-partner, and instantly revoke those permissions in case of domestic violence.

However, security checks can also play an important role for anyone, iphone who are interested in their own privacy and security. This feature not only protects you from intruders, but also helps you keep an eye on all the apps you download and revoke those permissions for, for example, your phone’s camera or speaker.

You might not want certain apps to have access to certain information, and a security check is the quickest way to not only verify that information, but also block access entirely. Here’s how.

If you’d like to learn more about Apple’s privacy and security features, check out our stories about new Lock mode, Sign in with Appleand AirTag pursuit.

Use the security check to view and revoke app permissions on your iPhone.

On your iPhone, launch the Settings app and navigate to Privacy & Security > security check. Here you will find several options: Emergency resetwhich is used for just that, emergencies, and Sharing and Access Managementwhich we will use to manage application permissions.

Use Sharing & Access Control to specify which apps will have access to your information.

Apple/Screenshot by Nelson Aguilar/CNET

After pressing Sharing and Access Management, use Face or Touch ID to access the security feature. Next, you’ll get a detailed summary of what you can view, including people, apps, and account security. Again, we’re focusing on app permissions, so we’ll be checking all of your apps and the information they have access to.

Go to the “Share with people” section by clicking the blue Miss button until you get to App Access, which is the second step in the security check feature. You should see a list of your third party apps along with a brief description of what information (Bluetooth, camera, location, etc.) is being shared.

To revoke app permissions, mark the circle next to the app, and then tap Stop access to the application button at the bottom of the page. You can revoke permissions for multiple apps at once by selecting more than one. If you want to see everything that a particular app has access to, tap the info button (ⓘ). You can revoke specific permissions, such as local network or location, rather than each individual permission.

Controlling Application Access to Information in Security Review

You can manage permissions on a per-app basis or by information (for example, by microphone).

Apple/Screenshot by Nelson Aguilar/CNET

The most extreme thing you can do is hit Select all and stop access. But apps need certain permissions to work, so I wouldn’t suggest that option.

You can also revoke permissions by information. If you click on Information in the tab at the top, you’ll see all the information that’s being accessed instead of apps. For example, you can remove library or calendar permissions for every app that has them at the same time.

When you’re done revoking app permissions, you can either skip the rest of the security check or use Quick Exit top right option.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *